This blog originally ran on Parenting.com.

Pregnant with Preston

The night before Preston was born

Jews are a very superstitious people. You may notice Jewish women knocking on wood a lot, or saying “poo, poo, poo” when talking about someone’s good fortune. We don’t like to jinx anything, and the “poo, poo, poo” is supposed to ward off the Evil Eye that comes with envy. This is also why when a woman is pregnant, we usually don’t tell anyone but our partner for the first three months, until all of the tests are run and we’re totally in the clear. Mostly because we want to be sure everything is okay with the baby, since about 20 percent of pregnancies end in miscarriage within the first 13 weeks. We believe it will jinx things to announce the good news too early, and we also don’t want to have to tell everyone the bad news in case things don’t work out.

I broke this rule, of course, by telling my parents the day after I found out I was pregnant with Preston, because I was totally freaking out (in a good way)…I had a million questions to ask, and my OB couldn’t see me till I was 8 weeks along (I found out I was pregnant about a month after we conceived). That was way too long for me to wait, so I begged my husband to let me tell my parents so I could talk to my mom about it, whom I talk to about everything. I couldn’t imagine keeping this secret from her for three months, much less for one day.

But I didn’t tell any of my friends for the first three months. I basically hid out in my bed for 12 weeks when I wasn’t at work — I missed birthday dinners, girls’ nights out, casual get-togethers. I’m the worst liar in the world; I can’t even tell a good white lie. Keeping my pregnancy a secret was the hardest part of the whole thing for me. After that first trimester was over I was sooo relieved; I embraced every part of the experience. I was one of those annoying women who loved being pregnant: the growing belly, my new big boobs, that first time you feel the baby move, all the changes my body was going through. All of it. Even now, I see a pregnant woman and swoon. I literally can’t wait to get pregnant again…

Keep reading the full blog over at Parenting.com.

Follow me on Twitter @spgorenstein and friend me on Facebook (Sarah Preston Gorenstein) to hear more about my adventures in parenting.

Leave a Reply

