This blog originally ran on Parenting.com.

Sheila and Coby

Cute pair: Sheila and Coby

In case you haven’t heard me mention it before: Being a working mom is the hardest job on earth. Straddling two worlds, and in my case two drastically different worlds, is a very tough balance to strike at times. It took me a while to find my groove after going back to work, but at some point during the last 16 months I found it. I think I’ve finally figured out how to be good at both things: When I’m at work, I am fully committed 150 percent; and when I’m home I give my son and husband my undivided attention, too (I call it compartmentalizing). Somehow, somewhere I have found more than 24 hours in the day to get everything done. There’s always room for improvement, of course—when it comes to myself, I should carve out more time to eat three healthy meals a day; work out regularly; cut my hair; get a wax once in a while; go to bed before 1 a.m. Say hi to the dog. You get the idea.

One of the things that inspires me to keep going is the working moms I am fortunate to be friends and acquaintances with. These women inspire me to keep doing what I love every day. I profiled four such women recently for the May issue of Michigan Avenue Magazine, a local glossy in Chicago (read their profiles and see adorable pics of their kids). Among them, a vice president at Fidelity Investments, a chief pediatric resident at the University of Chicago, a successful boutique owner, and an entrepreneurial fashion and pop culture blogger. These women are in their 30s, with one, two or three kids, climbing the career ladder and paving their own way, and kicking butt as moms too.

After interviewing these local “power moms” for the article, I promised my husband I would never complain about my schedule again (my friend Jen at Fidelity travels weekly for her job and doesn’t complain about it!). They inspired me, and I hope they’ll inspire you.

To read the full blog about the new generation of working moms, head over to Parenting.com.

Follow me on Twitter @thecosmomom, and Facebook at Sarah Preston Gorenstein.

Leave a Reply

