I know I’m a little late on commenting about this, but surely you’ve read about, or seen countless reposts of the Facebook status update by a disgruntled father that turned into the no. 1 best-selling book on Amazon.com, right?

Go the F to Sleep

You know what my first thought was when I read that Adam Mansbach’s hilariously irreverent status update was turned into a children’s book, Go the F**k to Sleep: Why the fuck didn’t I think of that? My second thought: Oh, yeah, because even if I had, getting a book published is about the hardest thing to accomplish today, unless you’re Chelsea Handler, Lauren Conrad, Tori Spelling or Bethenny Frankel (I know this first-hand since I’m currently working toward this goal).

Adam Mansbach is already a published author. He wrote The End of the Jews, and has a best-seller, Angry Black White Boy, and according to this CNN article started out as a poet. Which explains the laugh-out-loud iambic pentameter in Go the F**k to Sleep (which, by the way, isn’t even out yet). I can’t think of a better gift for the new sleep-deprived parent! Will you be buying this book? I sure as fuck will. Here are a couple great verses:

The windows are dark in the town, child.
The whales huddle down in the deep.
I’ll read you one very last book if you swear
You’ll go the f**k to sleep. 

The cats nestle close to their kittens now.
The lambs have laid down with the sheep.
You’re cozy and warm in your bed, my dear
Please go the f**k to sleep.

One thought on “Go the F**k to Sleep

  1. This book seems to be something fresh and new, it’s a short list of books that seem like they’re for kids, but really they’re for parents. Just over that line are books that really are for kids, but they’re made in a way that adults (yes, non-parent adults) can like them too. Anyway, I’m looking forward to checking this book out.

Leave a Reply

