Look what I just found: An old article I wrote in 2005, for Chicago magazine, titled “Fling Theory.” I love the title the editors came up with for it, as well as the dek: “Meet the new breed of commitment phone: a text-messaging, party-hopping connoisseur of the casual affair—who just happens to be a woman. And even at 31, she’s too busy having the time of her life to think about settling down.”

“Connoisseur of the casual affair…” I’d hardly call myself that. I think that’s just a fancier way of saying I dated a lot.

You can read the full article here. The amazing illustration below (by Lara Tomlin) is supposed to be me, but looks a lot more like my mom I think.

Fling Theory

Leave a Reply

